Newbie Question - Modeling Tools and Catel

Jan 19, 2011 at 11:09 PM

I am an experienced Windows Forms developer and am taking the plunge into WPF and MVVM. Still confused on some things but learning. I have been looking/reviewing several MVVM frameworks and I am very impressed (as are others) with Catel. I am still trying to get a handle around how to use something like Linq to Sql to generate my model and tie that into the Catel framework. Geert mentions using LLBLGenPro. How well does that work? How does it work? Does it decorate the generated code with the Serialization, PropertyData, GetValue, SetValue, etc.?  I want to try to avoid coding the "move" data from the database to the model, and from the model to the viewmodel (which is handled through the ViewModelToModel attribute as I understand it). Any thoughts or help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Jan 20, 2011 at 7:42 AM

First of all, great to hear that you are taking a look at WPF. At first, it might be useless and bring nothing but trouble compared to WinForms. But don't give up, once you find out the power of WPF, you'll never want to go back to WinForms again.

Anyway, there are several things you should consider, and everyone has it's own opinion on what I am going to subscribe. Just pick the one you like or experience with all of them to see what you like most.

DAL and Business Layer "combined"