Best Way To Delete Item From Collection in UI

Sep 12, 2011 at 4:35 PM

I am new to Catel (and MVVM) and figure this must be a simple thing to do, but I am having a hard time finding a nice, elegant way to do it:

Let's say I have a window which displays a ListBox of Person objects.  The Person objects are contained in an ObservableCollection<Person> in the window's ViewModel.  Following recommended practice for Catel, I create a UserControl, named PersonEntry, and ViewModel, PersonEntryViewModel, to represent each Person object in the ListBox.  One element in this UserControl is a Button, that when pressed, should remove that person from the collection. 

What is the best way to implement this behavior?  It seems to me that there should be a Command in the PersonEntryViewModel (call it 'DeleteMe'), which is bound to the delete button's Command property.  But then how does the PersonEntryViewModel notify the WindowViewModel that the associated Person should be deleted, without tightly coupling the two together?

Coordinator
Sep 12, 2011 at 5:04 PM

The Catel Examples repository contains an exact example what you want to accomplish. You can download the latest source and check it out, but I will try to explain how you can do this the easiest way.

Assuming you have an observable collection with persons, you should also bind to the SelectedItem of the L istBox. So, basically this is what you should have in view model:

/// <summary>
/// Gets or sets the selected person.
/// </summary>
public Person SelectedPerson
{
    get { return GetValue<Person>(SelectedPersonProperty); }
    set { SetValue(SelectedPersonProperty, value); }
}

/// <summary>
/// Register the SelectedPerson property so it is known in the class.
/// </summary>
public readonly PropertyData SelectedPersonProperty = RegisterProperty("SelectedPerson", typeof(Person), null);

Then in your xaml, you do this:

<ListBox ItemsSource="{Binding PersonCollection}" SelectedItem="{Binding SelectedPerson}">