ValidationResult output to custom control

Jan 20, 2012 at 9:00 AM

Hi,

I am totally new to Catel, so please apologize my poor knowledge. I have tried to find the answer in Documentation and in Discussions but with no results.

I am building WPF applivcation using Prism for navigation and MEF for modularity reasons. I wolud like to use Catel validation feature, but without integration into Catel proprietary controls. I am trying something like this:

public List<IValidationResult> FormValidationResult
        {
            get
            {
                return this.ValidationContext.GetValidations();
            }
        }

and bind FormValidationResult in my XAML to ListView (or whatever else). However, this isn't working as the List object doesn't notify changes. So, as the Validate method adds the error (or warning) to the list, this change isn't reflected in UI. Is there any possibility to do this? I'd like to see some method returning ObservableCollection<IValidationResult> so the binded contrrol would refresh automatically. Could you help me, please?

Tomas

Coordinator
Jan 20, 2012 at 9:15 AM

Hi Tomas, and welcome to the club :)

The ValidationContext is being filled by the ViewModelBase of Catel, but you say that the validation context is correctly being filled in your case as well?

The ValidationContext is a momentum, and most of the time validation contexts are merged together. What you can do is every time you run your validation sequence, is to call something like this:

RaisePropertyChanged(() => FormValidationResult);

If that doesn't fit your goals, please let us know how you see a better implementation.

Jan 20, 2012 at 10:04 AM

Hi Geert,

thank you for the quick response.

ValidationContest is filled correctly and I can access all of its members on demand. Here is the scenario:

I have form containing something like this:

<TextBox Text="{Binding Email, ValidatesOnDataErrors=True, NotifyOnValidationError=True}"/>