catel & the modern ui framework

Topics: Issues / bugs, Questions
Aug 24, 2013 at 4:30 PM
Hello, I'm quite new to MVVM and have spent the last week reading though articles/tutorials etc. and I'm quite excited about it all and really appreciate your effort with the catel project!
In my application I have a model where the base entity(Batch) has a number of sub-entities(navigational field) defined as IList<Production>
In my main view(catel page) is split in two, with a listview on the left and the selected output on the right. I also have the view model(catel vm) to back it up. The right side is the BatchView also backed with a BatchViewModel that takes a Batch as only constructor. Inside i Expose(..) the model properties, including the IList<Request>. My first question comes here: do I have to(and at what point exactly) transform the IList into a ObservableCollection? I mean, at the data layer my save operation just attaches the given entity to the context and saves).
Next comes the issue: the BatchView displays the collection of Requests in separate UserControls, inside an expander. Pretty much exactly like the example with the Houses. Except that it is really slow when using the modern ui framework for the window! In fact with the normal Window (or same with DataWindow) everything works instantly, where as selecting a different Batch on the left (right side is reloaded) takes like 1-2s. If using a direct item template in the BatchView for displaying the Requests (instead of the UserControls) it's ok, but naturally I want to use nested controls with their own view models. The slowdown seems to occur after the RequestViewModel constructor exits so I believe it's possible that this is not at all a catel related issue but I thought I'd have your opinion first. Thanks in advance! Here is the bit that slows things down(with mui):
        <ItemsControl Grid.ColumnSpan="3" ItemsSource="{Binding Requests}">
            <ItemsControl.ItemTemplate>