Using commands in datatemplates

Feb 28, 2012 at 10:27 AM

Hello,

I've read this post (http://catel.codeplex.com/discussions/249731) and but that's a WPF solution for my issue, so that's why I created a new discussion.

So what I'm trying to do: I have a itemscontrol where I put Itemssource to a collection in the viewmodel. When I want for example a ClickEvent, I put buttons as datatemplate in the itemscontrol. Because the datacontext in the datatemplate is set to the item in the itemssource, I cannot reach my viewmodel anymore.

Some time ago, I've come across an excellent solution to solve the Silverlight issues on this matter. I've created a DatacontextProxy class based on someone's blog:

#Region " Constructors "
        Public Sub New()
            AddHandler Me.Loaded, AddressOf DataContextProxy_Loaded
        End Sub
#End Region

#Region " Members & Properties "
        Public Shared ReadOnly DataSourceProperty As DependencyProperty = DependencyProperty.Register("DataSource", GetType(Object), GetType(DataContextProxy), Nothing)
        Public Property DataSource() As Object
            Get
                Return DirectCast(GetValue(DataSourceProperty), Object)
            End Get
            Set(value As Object)
                SetValue(DataSourceProperty, value)
            End Set
        End Property

Private _BindingPropertyName As String
        Public Property BindingPropertyName() As String
            Get
                Return _BindingPropertyName
            End Get
            Set(value As String)
                _BindingPropertyName = value
            End Set
        End Property

Private _BindingMode As BindingMode
        Public Property BindingMode() As BindingMode
            Get
                Return _BindingMode
            End Get
            Set(value As BindingMode)
                _BindingMode = value
            End Set
        End Property
#End Region

#Region " Events "