Catel newbie question: Isn't the ServiceLocator pattern an Anti-pattern?

Topics: Feature requests
Nov 6, 2012 at 10:48 AM

Hi to all

I'm new to Catel , but I'm using a custom MVVM framework in a WPF app that I'd like to convert to use an out of the box framework.

I'm especially interested in implementing a DI pattern as I'm using a static factory pattern now...

I've seen several good posts about Catel. Diving in the docs I've seen that it seems to use the ServiceLocator pattern deeply, but I'm strongly against its use like in the Message mediator doc article:

var mediator = ServiceLocator.Instance.ResolveType<IMessageMediator>();
mediator.Register<string>(this, OnMessage);

This introduces the problems described for example here: http://www.devtrends.co.uk/blog/how-not-to-do-dependency-injection-the-static-or-singleton-container and here: http://blog.ploeh.dk/2010/02/03/ServiceLocatorIsAnAntiPattern.aspx

What's your position in this anti-pattern debate? Is there a practical way to prevent this using Catel?

Thanx 
Paolo 

Coordinator
Nov 7, 2012 at 9:06 AM

Hi Paolo,

Excellent question. We have also discussed this internally, and we think calling it an anti-pattern is an anti-pattern ;-). Let me explain a very common situation and why we still choose to use the ServiceLocator.

Constructor injection
Constructor injection is a really good way to inject dependencies into a class. However, think about a very common scenario. You have a view model for a window. It needs the IPleaseWaitService so you inject it into the window. Then, you create a nested view model. This one needs the IMyDataProvider. Now what, are you going to inject *all* child view model dependencies in the window view model? Aren't you moving the responsibility of the dependency container from the IoC container to the main view model?

Other methods of avoiding the ServiceLocator